In all the history of The Donegal International Rally…..
There has NEVER been a tighter Finish than that of 2016 !!!!
And YES the glory goes to a DONEGAL Crew, that of Last year’s National Rally Winner, Manus Kelly and Navigator Donall Barrett.

Manus Kelly 2016 Winner. Pic by Paul Mcilroy.

The winning margin…..a half of 1 second.
The Blink of an eye between them all at the end of Fanad Stage.

Runner up Keith Cronin and Mikie Galvin had been leading up to that……and having Stage 18, the second run over Glen Cancelled, most pundits I talked to today, including former winners Rory Kennedy and Seamus McGettigan both called a Cronin win especially after the Glen stage cancellation.

But lone and behold up steps Manus once more to take the ULTIMATE prize on the very last stage of the 3 day event.

Celebrations will continue in Glenswilly for the next week or so AT LEAST.

Meanwhile in the National Rally Scotsman David Bogie  and Enda Sherry took victory ahead of Frank Kelly in “Baby Blue ” by 21.3 Seconds.

The Historic Rally was Won by Seamus O’Connell (who incidently caught up with the first Safety car on the Glen stage).
He was in a beautiful Mark II Escort  co-driven by Sean Magee.
He finished  a massive 2 minutes 43 seconds ahead of runner up Andy Johnson.

The Junior Rally was Won by Michael Boyle and Dermot McCafferty in a Honda Civic.

He finished 2.9 seconds ahead of Paul Creamer who had Patrick Durning calling the notes, and Kevin Horgan a further 2minutes and 22Seconds behind in 3rd position.

What a Weekend !!!!!!!!

Off to the Mount Errigal Hotel now for prizegiving (and a few sociables)

Thanks to the Following:

Donegal Motor Club.

The Donegal International Rally Committee.

All the Marshalls (without whom, this rally could not take place)

And finally the Media for your help all weekend long.