Organisers of the Dunlop National Rally Championship have formulated a new rota for the series based on a two-year template that will come into effect from next season.

The biennial rota has been approved by the Rallies Committee further to extensive discussions by the Dunlop National Rally Championship Sub-Committee following a meeting of all the clubs earlier this year.

The aim of the review group was to provide a more balanced geographical representation with four (4) rounds in the northern half and four (4) in the southern half of the country.
As far as possible the period between events was kept to a minimum of two weeks. With the introduction of the Midland Rally to the series next year and the return of the ALMC Rally the following year, the championship will now have eight different events each season.

Chairman of the National Rally Championship Sub-Committee Richard Talbot commented,

“We have tried to keep changes to a minimum but the constant freshening of the series is of paramount importance. The addition of the Midland Rally and the return of the ALMC Rally is an added dimension to the series and the respective clubs, like the present 14 clubs, will bring their own particular flavour to the championship but will also play a crucial role under the national umbrella. It is our opinion that the new format will further increase the popularity of the series and make it more attractive to competitors from all over the country.”


2015 Championship Rounds

Dates Provisional.

  1. Birr – February 22nd (South)
  2. Midland – March 29th (North)
  3. Monaghan – April 26th (North)
  4. Circuit of Munster – May 31st (South) June Bank Holiday weekend
  5. Raven’s Rock (Carrick on Suir) – June 28th (South)
  6. Sligo – July 12th (North)
  7. Galway – August 30th (North)
  8. Fastnet Rally (Skibbereen) – October 25th (South)

2016 Championship Rounds

Dates Provisional

  1. Mayo – March 13th (North)
  2. Kerry – April 3rd (South)
  3. Carlow – May 8th (South)
  4. Cavan – May 29th (North)
  5. ALMC – July 3rd (North)
  6. Tipperary Stonethrowers (Clonmel) – August 7th (South)
  7. Clare – September 18th (South)
  8. Donegal Harvest – October 8th (North)